ASSAf Humanities Book Awards Ceremony 2023

Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) (2023)

MP4 video, Size: 5.50 GB; Duration: 1:24:33

The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) is happy to announce its winners for the Humanities Book Prize Awards for 2023. These awards are made every year to honour the importance and contribution of scholarly texts to humanist knowledge production and intellectual endeavour in South Africa. Professor Lesley Green is awarded the 2023 ASSAf Humanities Book Award (category ‘Established Researcher’) for her book Rock|Water|Life: Ecology and Humanities for a Decolonial South Africa. Joint winners of the ASSAf Humanities Book Award in the category of ‘Emerging Researcher’ in 2023 are Dr B Camminga and Dr Dariusz Dziewanski for their books Transgender refugees and the imagined South Africa: Bodies over borders and borders over bodies, and Gang Entry and Exit in Cape Town: Getting Beyond the Streets in Africa’s Deadliest City. ASSAf awards these prizes bi-annually for scholarly publications that make outstanding and exemplary contributions to scholarship in the Humanities, Social Sciences or the Performing Arts.

Author and contributor ORCIDs: Green, Lesley ORCID; Camminga, B ORCID; Dziewanski, Dariusz ORCID; Roos, Neil ORCID; Soudien, Crain ORCID; Jansen, Jonathan ORCID
Publisher: Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)
Sponsorship: Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)
Peer review status: Non-Peer Reviewed