Legends of South African Science II

Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) (2020)

Cite: Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), (2019). Legends of South African Science II. [Online] Available at: DOI http://dx.doi.org/10.17159/assaf.2018/0036

After the overwhelming success of Legends of South African Science, published in 2017 as part of the 20 year celebrations of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), this edition of Legends of South African Science II continues with profiling Members who were elected between 1993 – 2000. The 62 Members profiled in this edition represent some of the longest standing ASSAf Members. One of the strengths of a national Academy is the disciplinary diversity of its Membership. Collectively, the narratives of the Members profiled in this edition represent the apex of academic excellence and scholarship. All these Members have used their formal academic training in their specific fields and demonstrated how, through engagement with scholars in other fields, both locally and internationally, contributed to them becoming champions and leaders in advancing knowledge. Every narrative in this edition provides a unique perspective on contributions by accomplished South African scientists and scholars who, using an evidence-based approach have contributed significantly in growing the global knowledge production in their respective fields. Many of these scholars have held senior positions at academic institutions, been part of national and international committees, served at Governmental positions, and worked unstintingly in shaping the agendas of the post-apartheid South Africa. Their stories are fascinating, their contributions to science invaluable, and their service to society diverse and inspiring. It is also touching and inspiring to see how many scientists during this era were supported, inspired and uplifted by the late President Nelson Mandela. They were all committed to building a democratic South Africa, even in the face of many adversities. ASSAf strives in upholding its mandate of using evidence-based science in the service of society.

Profiles: Miriam Adhikari, Lewis Ashwal, Saleem Badat, Ahmed Bawa, Solomon Benatar, Arvinkumar Bhana, Nigel Bishop, George Branch, Chris Brink, Peter Cleaton-Jones, Neville Raymond Comins, Richard Cowling, David Dewar, Anton Eberhard, Petra Engelbrecht, Michael Feast, Brian Figaji, Peter Folb, Richard Fuggle, Christoph Garbers, Richard Goldstone, Diane Grayson, Fritz Hahne, Raymond Haines, Manfred Hellberg, Eugene Julies, Johann Kirsten, Jan Malherbe, Vincent Maphai, Anthony Mbewu, Chabani Manganyi, Veronica McKay, Phil Mjwara, Vincent Moran, Johann Mouton, Daniel Ncayiyana, Mokubung Nkomo, Cyril O’Connor, Philip Onyebujoh, Iqbal Parker, Calie Pistorius, Bernard Prior, Mamphela Ramphele, Doug Rawlings, Terence Robinson, Justus Roux, Beric Skews, Hendrik (Hennie) Snyman, Rolf Stumpf, Chris Swanepoel, Nthoana Tau-Mzamane, Petro Terblanche, Jennifer Thomson, Peter Tyson, Annél van Aswegen, Anton van Niekerk, Johan van Zyl, Daan Verwoerd, Sibusiso Vil-Nkomo, David Walker, Patricia Whitelock, David Woods

DOI: 10.17159/assaf.2018/0036
Publisher: Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)