G. Presidential Roundtable Series

About this Collection

The ASSAf Presidential Roundtables on Science, Scholarship and Society bring together experts in a particular field to address a critical issue percolating in society that requires the deliberation of the best minds on the topic.

Peer-Review Status: Non-Peer Reviewed

Enquiries: Renate Venier


Search Results

Now showing 1 - 1 of 1
  • Item
    The threat of academic xenophobia to the future of South African universities
    (Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), 2022-11-24) Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)
    Webinar presented on 24 November 2022 as part of the 9th ASSAf Presidential Roundtable series. The 9th ASSAf Presidential Roundtable Discussion topic is “The Threat of Academic Xenophobia to the Future of South African Universities”. The more visible signs of xenophobia happen on the streets of South Africa and are sometimes violent and disruptive. But universities as institutions have not been immune to what we call academic xenophobia. The dialogue brought together experts to discuss the latest data on African scholars and scientists in South African universities, their experiences on campuses throughout the country, and what can be done to develop a progressive employment regime that is built on the academic values of the modern university. The Panellists included Prof Evance Kalula (Emeritus Professor of Law, University of Cape Town), Ms Nicole Fritz (Director, Helen Suzman Foundation), Dr Precious Simba (Lecturer, Department of Education Policy Studies, Stellenbosch University) and Prof Sakhela Buhlungu (Vice Chancellor, University of Fort Hare). The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) runs these series of ASSAf Presidential Roundtables on Science, Scholarship and Society bi-annually and are hosted and moderated by ASSAf’s President, Prof Jonathan Jansen. The roundtables are an evidence-based dialogue that brings together experts and stakeholders to address critical issues affecting society at large and are of interest to a broad audience.
©The Author/Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)