Annual National Scholarly Editors' Forum (NSEF) Meeting

Hosted by the Academy of Science of South Africa's Scholarly Publishing Programme (SPP) 21 and 22 November 2022

Theme: The latest trends and challenges in the rapidly changing world of scholarly publishing







DAY ONE - MONDAY, 21 NOVEMBER 2022

Session 1: ASSAf Business Meeting

Facilitator: Prof Keyan Tomaselli, Committee on Scholarly

Publishing in South Africa (CSPiSA)

09:00 - 09:05 Welcome and apologies

09:05 - 09:10 Confirmation of the agenda

09:10 - 09:15 Approval of the minutes of the previous meeting

held on 10 & 11 November 2021

09:15 – 09:25 Matters arising from the previous minutes

Report back on the statement on issues and struggles faced by editors of journals in SA (will be

discussed in session 3 on day 2) Prof Philip de Jager (CSPiSA Member)

09:25 – 09:45 Progress report on SPP activities

Ms Susan Veldsman (SPP Director)

09:45 - 10:00 Q&A

10:00 - 10:15 Comfort break

Session 2: Changing Scholarly Journal's Accessibility

Facilitator: Ms Susan Veldsman (SPP Director)

10:15 – 10:30 Plan S and its implications for journals

Dr Alice Gibson, Joint Information Systems

Committee (JISC, UK)

10:30 – 10:45 The prospects of audio publishing

Dr Nosipho Mngomezulu (Wits)

10:45 - 11:05 Q&A











Session 3: Enhanced Engagement

Facilitator: Prof Ronelle Carolissen (PINS Journal)

11:05 – 11:15 Strategies to reach more readers

Prof Rebecca Garland (Clean Air Journal)

11:15 - 11:25 How to report to your editorial board

Prof Mike Lambert (SAJSM)

11:25 – 11:35 The importance of standardised referencing

Prof Philip Machanick (SACJ)

11:35 - 11:45 Multimedia and enhancing engagement of

readership

Prof Klaus Von Pressentin (SAFPJ)

11:45 - 12:15 Q&A

12:15 - 13:00 Lunch break

Session 4: Keynote Presentation

Facilitator: Prof Keyan Tomaselli (CSPiSA Chair)

13:00 – 13:40 Keynote Presentation

Dr Seán Muller (Author of *The Incentivised University*:

Scientific Revolutions, Policies, Consequences)

13:40 - 14:00 Q&A

Session 5: Creative Outputs

Facilitator: Prof Takalani Mashau (JES)

14:00 - 14:15 Accreditation of Creative Outputs

Mr Chief Mabizela (DHET)

14:15 - 14:25 Evaluation process

Dr Rene Smith (Wits)

14:25 - 14:35 University perspective

Prof Leora Farber-Blackbeard (UJ)

14:35 - 14:45 Creator's perspective

Dr Lee Watkins (Rhodes)

14:45 - 15:15 Q&A

15:15 - 15:30 Wrap-up and Closure



