## **Marine protected areas**

A marine protected area (MPA) is an area of coastline or ocean that is protected to some degree for the long-term benefit of both people and nature. The role of MPAs as a tool to conserve and rebuild fish stocks has been demonstrated worldwide. Prior to 2019, South Africa had 25 formally declared MPAs (24 around mainland South Africa and one around the Prince Edward Islands). The 24 MPAs around South Africa covered only 0.43% of the total ocean area, of which only 0.16% was considered 'no-take', where no fishing is allowed. In May 2019, 20 new MPAs were gazetted, increasing the protection of South Africa's mainland ocean territory to 5%. As a result, 87% of the 150 marine ecosystem types identified around South Africa now have some protection.

For more information, see https://www.marineprotectedareas.org.za

- 1 Orange Shelf Edge
- 2 Namaqua Fossil Forest
- 3 Namaqua National Park (NP)
- 4 Childs Bank
- 5 Benguela Mud
- 6 Cape Canyon
- 7 Rocherpan
- 8 Malgas Island
- 9 Marcus Island
- 10 Jutten Island
- 11 Langebaan Lagoon
- 12 Sixteen Mile Beach
- 13 Robben Island
- 14 Table Mountain NP
- 15 Helderberg
- 16 Betty's Bay
- 17 Walker Bay
- 18 SE Atlantic Seamounts
- 19 Browns Bank Corals
- 20 Agulhas Mud
- 21 De Hoop

- 22 Stilbaai
- 23 Agulhas Bank Complex
- 24 SW Indian Seamounts
- 25 Goukamma
- 26 Robberg
- 27 Tsitsikamma
- 28 Agulhas Front
- 29 Port Elizabeth Corals
- 30 Sardinia Bay
- 31 Addo Elephant NP
- 32 Amathole
- 33 Amathole Offshore
- 34 Dwesa-Cwebe
- 35 Hluleka
- 36 Pondoland
- 37 Trafalgar
- 38 Protea Banks
- 39 Aliwal Shoal
- 40 Uthukela Banks
- 41 Isimangaliso
- 42 Prince Edward Islands

